0815 671 6040 [email protected]

Tag: Francis Nwifuru

Governor-elect Francis Nwifuru, right with Governor Dave Umahi

INEC declares Nwifuru of APC as Ebonyi governor-elect

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Abakaliki on Monday, declared APC governorship candidate, Mr Francis Nwifuru as winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state.

The INEC’s State Collation Officer, Prof. Charles Igwe, Vice-Chancellor, University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) declared Nwifuru as the winner having satisfied the electoral act.

Igwe said that Nwifuru polled 199, 131 votes to win the poll.

According to him, Francis Ogbonna Nwifuru of the APC, having satisfied the requirement of the law is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected by the Returning Officer.

He said Prof. Bernard Odoh of APGA, polled 52,189 votes, while Dr Ifeanyi Odii of the PDP, polled 80,191 votes.

He said that the total number of accredited votes was 350,345, out of the 1,597,646 registered votes in the state.

He added that the total votes cast was 349,941, valid vote, 342,554, while the rejected votes stood at 7,387.

The governor-elect won in 10 out of the 13 Local Government Areas of the state, while the APGA candidate won in two LGAs and the PDP candidate one.

Nwifuru would be the fourth executive governor of the 27 year-old state

Francis Nwifuru

Nwifuru of APC leads in Ebonyi governorship poll


Francis Nwifuru of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won eight out of the 10 Local Government areas (LGAs) of Ebonyi state so far announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday.

The local government areas are: Ebonyi, Ivo, Ezza North, Izzi, Afikpo South, Ohaozara, Ohaukwu and Abakaliki.

Ebonyi has 13 local government areas.

The All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) and the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) won in one each, Ezza South and Onicha respectively.

The state Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Mrs Onyeka Ugochi, announced that the remaining LGAs of Ikwo, Afikpo North and Ishielu would be announced as soon as the results are ready.

The major contenders in the governorship race are: Francis Nwifuru, APC, Dr IfeanyiChukwuma Odii, PDP, and Bernard Odo of the APGA

Pius Anyim and APC governorship candidate Nwifuru

PDP’s Pius Anyim backs Ebonyi APC governorship candidate Nwifuru

, ,

Former Senate President, Chief Anyim Pius Anyim, on Wednesday declared his support for the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ebonyi, Chief Francis Nwifuru.

The stalwart of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) declared his support for the APC candidate at Ishiagu, his hometown in Ivo Local Government Area of Ebonyi.

He told newsmen that it was based on existing charter of equity in the state.

The former Secretary to the Government of the Federation said he supported Nwifuru who is from the northern senatorial district because it was the district’s turn to govern the state.

“I believe in the rotation of the gubernatorial seat to the three districts for equity and justice.

“I have longed believed in this principle and cannot back down on it.

“I fought for it at the national level in the PDP and have to do so in my state,’’ he said.


Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu is a man of many traditional honours across the country, from north to south, west to east. The array of titles he has garnered was only comparable to that of Chief Moshood Abiola, winner of the 1993 Presidential election.


Subscribe to our Newsletter to be updated.