0815 671 6040 [email protected]

Tag: Ebonyi APC

Francis Nwifuru

Nwifuru of APC leads in Ebonyi governorship poll


Francis Nwifuru of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won eight out of the 10 Local Government areas (LGAs) of Ebonyi state so far announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday.

The local government areas are: Ebonyi, Ivo, Ezza North, Izzi, Afikpo South, Ohaozara, Ohaukwu and Abakaliki.

Ebonyi has 13 local government areas.

The All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) and the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) won in one each, Ezza South and Onicha respectively.

The state Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Mrs Onyeka Ugochi, announced that the remaining LGAs of Ikwo, Afikpo North and Ishielu would be announced as soon as the results are ready.

The major contenders in the governorship race are: Francis Nwifuru, APC, Dr IfeanyiChukwuma Odii, PDP, and Bernard Odo of the APGA

Pius Anyim and APC governorship candidate Nwifuru

PDP’s Pius Anyim backs Ebonyi APC governorship candidate Nwifuru

, ,

Former Senate President, Chief Anyim Pius Anyim, on Wednesday declared his support for the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ebonyi, Chief Francis Nwifuru.

The stalwart of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) declared his support for the APC candidate at Ishiagu, his hometown in Ivo Local Government Area of Ebonyi.

He told newsmen that it was based on existing charter of equity in the state.

The former Secretary to the Government of the Federation said he supported Nwifuru who is from the northern senatorial district because it was the district’s turn to govern the state.

“I believe in the rotation of the gubernatorial seat to the three districts for equity and justice.

“I have longed believed in this principle and cannot back down on it.

“I fought for it at the national level in the PDP and have to do so in my state,’’ he said.


Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu is a man of many traditional honours across the country, from north to south, west to east. The array of titles he has garnered was only comparable to that of Chief Moshood Abiola, winner of the 1993 Presidential election.


Subscribe to our Newsletter to be updated.